Going Back to School

"If you ever find yourself in the wrong story, leave." - Mo WillemsAs my kids and I prep for their school to start next week, I have been wondering what to do with myself. I continue applying for jobs every week, as I have for the last year, and get no response. I need a new plan.

In reality I need a part-time job to accommodate my many doctor appointments, or I need social security to decide if I deserve disability or not. They are reviewing my medical files for the… I’ve lost count, maybe third time. It must be fun counting my diseases, and my medications?

In my current job field, part-time jobs just don’t seem to exist anymore, so I finally made a decision last week that I was going to give up web design and development. I’ve done it for over 14 years, and I think it’s time for me to find something else to do with my life. Find a new path. So, I am going back to school too.

nowWell, it may take a couple of months to get everything in order, so it will likely be in the spring. In the mean time, I think I’ll find an easy going retail or administrative part-time job that will allow me to go to all of my appointments, and keep my stress levels down. My doctors keep reminding me that I can’t go back to a job that puts the same amount of pressure on me as my previous job did. Maybe I can work in a book store, and get some discounts!

I’m waiting to talk to the advisor before I make a firm decision about the field that I’m going to choose in school, but I have a couple of ideas.

It feels good to know that I’m taking a new path.

Save

Leave a Reply

