Lessons Learned

I am learning more and more as I continue to apply for jobs, and wonder if my health is going to improve.

Take someone who is educated, ambitious, hardworking and tireless, and rob them of their ability to work, clean house, exercise, think clearly and ever feel awake or healthy again.I have been applying for jobs for about a year now. My ultimate goal is to find a part-time job, where I could continue to utilize all of my skills, and my health issues won’t interfere with my schedule or my work. I was told at my previous job that was a problem even though I met all of my deadlines, and worked 40+ hours almost every week. Until the end when I got very sick for a few weeks when some medicine tried to kill me. The people who made a difference didn’t care, they just wanted me gone. I still did everything I could to finish my final project before I walked out the door.

What I know now after my year of applying for jobs is that:

  1. If you want an interview, don’t admit to being disabled! That friendly, legal looking box may be there on the application as if it’s going to help you, but I assure you that it will be the reason you never hear about the job again.
  2. When they ask you why you haven’t been working for the last 2 years, don’t tell them it’s because you have health problems, and you needed to recover. Telling them that you took time off to spend with your kids will get you much further. I know. It’s shocking!
  3. Fitting interviews in between procedures and doctor appointments often ends badly. Managing lack of sleep and brain functionality when answering questions will not end well.

As I get to the point where I really need a job, or I need Social Security to approve me for disability, my health continues to decline. I have short moments where I start to feel better, and then everything goes to crap again and I get rejected from another job.

I will keep trying. My new lupus treatment is said to help a lot of people, so my rheumatologist has hope for me too. I just have to be patient because it usually takes a few months to start working, and after every infusion it knocks me out for a few days.

Tomorrow I will apply for a couple more jobs. I will mark my application as disabled on one, and keep the other one very generic. We will see…

Epilepsy Problem #189: Going to a job interview and being afraid to tell a potential employer about your epilepsy.

 

Leave a Reply

