Knowing my limits

These last couple of years I have had to put a lot of thought into what I’m capable of doing on a day to day basis. There are many factors that go into my decisions, but the most important thing for me to remember is that it isn’t consistent.
I can't do this but I'm doing it anyway
There are weeks or months where I can barely get out of bed every day, and then there are times when I can go for a couple of weeks staying pretty busy. I know that if I’m going to have a busy day, I’ll have to plan rest time the day after, or right after the activity. If it’s going to be a busy few days, my rest time may have to extend to a whole week or more.

It got even more confusing when I finally agreed to start taking painkillers. I have times when I feel like everything is fine, and then my meds wear off, and I remember why I had to take it in the first place.

Today I went bowling with my family, and it was so much fun while we were playing. I could tell I was getting tired during the second game, and when we got back to the house I had to take a nap. I overdid things, and I will regret that part of it for a few days, but it was nice knowing that I could bowl again/still.

family bowling fun
It’s important for me to find my balance sometimes. Some days it’s too much for me to cook dinner. I don’t always want to say no to activities with my family, but I don’t want to spend a week in bed after every fun thing I do. Balance sucks sometimes.

Leave a Reply

